The German Immigration before the American Civil War

My teacher, Mrs. Richards, challenged us to find a scholarly article related to our blog I decided to find out about my ancestor’s immigration beyond what I already know. My ancestors immigrated to the Americas shortly before the American Civil War. My ancestors where just a few of thousands as about half of Germany’s population during the 1800’s immigrated to America. The Germans who immigrated to America were typically low income farmers or people who were trying to escape the riots that had been going on in Germany during this time period. Few countries other than the USA allowed German immigration. Where is your family from, where did they immigrate from, are you well connected to your origin country, and can you find out? If you choose to do so share it with me I would love to find out about your family’s origin.

I found all my information at http://www.ushistory.org/us/25f.asp

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *